Private messages

Private messages are pretty straightforward. They're a way to communicate 1-on-1 with another colleague. In general, try to keep as much communication in public and private groups as possible. That way you can maximize the benefits of team transparency. But, when you do need to send a private message, here are a few things to know:

Click the People header or the + symbol to open a list of available private message conversations. Type a colleague's name to search through a list of all users in the system. 

As with groups, the red badge will display the count of unread messages you have.

If you want to hide the conversation, mouse over the conversation and click the  symbol. Since you'll always receive a notification if someone sends you a private message, you can't "leave" these chat rooms the way you can a public or private group.

Happy chatting!