Private groups are accessible only to the creator and users who are invited in. The list of your private groups appears on the left hand sidebar as well, along with public groups. Private groups are denoted by the lock icon. Adding a private group works the same way as a public group — just select Private for the group type.
Note that once you leave a private group, you will have to be invited back in to access the group again.